Life is too short to be subjected to the “A” word

Alone

Sometimes your goals of being active may not align with friends or homemates, so reaching those goals can sometimes leave you feeling alone.

For me, when I was pregnant for the first time it left me feeling unsure about how to tackle my goals or feeling at a loss because my normal “ways” of reaching my goals I was told were unsafe or unhealthy for me and the baby.

Here are some solutions to sane and active:

Paddleboarding - Faith KeithGet outside. The vitamin D always does your psyche good – its a mood lifter. I once read that sunny San Diego was rated one of the country’s top cities for happy and active people – they attributed this to people spending time in the sun and being active in the sun (who wouldn’t want to with a beach front in your back yard?).  Well…it’s not like the sun is only in San Diego! Which brings me to my next point…

Explore. I was surprised how much is available in my metroplex! It is known for it’s fine dining and shopping, so I never ever thought I would find AMAZING hiking trails just 40 minutes from downtown! Not to mention our spectacular lakes for kayaking! We even have little shacks that rent everything from canoes to paddleboards! Don’t be subject to your circumstances, make fun happen!

Ritualize. Plan a once a month outing.  The scheduled time means you won’t break it and it could force you to get mountain biking - faith keithcreative with HOW you will “out”.  This month I rallied people to run a 5k with me. Next…hiking with the girlfriends! Now that the weather is warming up just a smidge I’ll bust out my lovely kayaks with the hubs or a girlfriend – or maybe rally a few others and rent from that little shack by the lake.

Don’t let anything stop you from your desire to be active – get out there and have fun with it!  Active or not, people like to have fun, so maybe they just need an instigator – you! 🙂


About Faith Keith

Luke Keith picked me. I love life. View all posts by Faith Keith

One response to “Life is too short to be subjected to the “A” word

Leave a Reply

