How to Detox

New Years Resolutionists, don’t lose momentum! You are doing great, just keep it up! This is that 6 week mark where 95% of people start dropping out!

There are a TON of detox plans out there. There are lots of benefits to detox plans, but some plans will inadvertently slow your metabolism or are otherwise too harsh.  YES, you will feel weak on some detox plans – that means you are correctly STARVING yourself haha. Sure, you can drop 10lbs “fast” when you starve yourself for a few weeks, but you have not solved the real problem, so that weight is going to come right back. #paraderain

The purpose of a detox is not for a quick fix of weight loss, it is actually to kind of get a “clean slate”.  You can feel AMAZING after doing a proper detox and it will springboard you into a leaner, healthier lifestyle.

I have a friend who recently started a detox plan and I recently have had to do somewhat of a detox myself because of my newborn’s allergy to …everything *sigh*.   So….I thought I would share my detox plan in honor of New Years Resolutions tradition!

The Detox Guideline

Foods to Avoid

Soybeans and bi-products
Peanuts
Gluten
Corn
Tomatoes
Grapefruit (grapefruit affects enzyme function for detoxification. I do not know how much, but if I am on a detox merely to cut my diet down I will include grapefruit for it’s diuretic benefits)
Dairy (milk products and eggs)
Sugar (I eliminate all forms, including honey, agave and corn syrup; however, you could allow stevia or raw honey or maple or brown rice syrup)
Soft drinks, sweetned fruit juice, and processed food items

Foods I make sure to include or use as replacements

Coconut milk or rice milk, un-sweetned or sugar free
Rice, oats, amaranth, quinoa, tapioca
Vegetables
Fruit
Fish/chicken/turkey/lean pork/flank steak
Condiment replacements: Olive oil, vinegar (flavored vinegar too), mustard, spices (that do not contain soy or milk), raw honey, wasabi

Faith’s Detox Approved Protein Powders

  • Herbalife Formula 1, allergen free (Check out my friends at Top Shelf Nutrition)
  • MediClear Plus

The Sample Diet Plan

Meal 1: serving of oatmeal with berries, 2 slices turkey bacon, 2-scoop protein shake in 1 part water, 1 part coconut milk

Meal 2: 4 oz orange roughy and an apple or carrot sticks

Meal 3: grilled chicken on a salad with tons of my favorite veggies

Meal 4: herbalife formula 1 shake in coconut milk, 1 low-sodium rice cake

Meal 5: 3-4 oz sweet potato (usually sliced and baked as fries.  I slice a bunch and throw them in the freezer to whip out whenever I crave ’em)

Meal 6: 4 oz flank steak with steamed broccoli and apple slices baked with cinnamon or 1/4 c applesauce

The key to success in any diet is balance and consistency.  Always make sure you are getting good nutrition and not just cutting food or just cutting calories.  Fuel your body! Consult with your physician before starting any new diet plan.

Happy detoxing!

My own “statistic”

About Faith Keith

Luke Keith picked me. I love life. View all posts by Faith Keith

7 responses to “How to Detox

  • Donloree

    Perfect!! 🙂 Most of the battle is in the kitchen and there is no reason to STARVE yourself. STARVING yourself only leading to more ridiculousness later. Good work!

  • Erica Hornberg

    My first detox did not go so well for me. Not just low energy – I felt dead for a few days there. It wasn’t pleasant. That has turned me off to trying one again.

    • Faith Keith

      Exactly 😦 That’s why I wanted to share about how to detox and still eat. Detox doesn’t mean you have to purge your body of nutrients 😦 Sorry for your bad experience! I’ve been there too!

  • Alana

    Hi Faith,
    I noticed that you included stevia in your acceptable list. I’ve had some really bad reactions with stevia, so I stay far away from it. Plus, the jury is still out regarding on its long-term effects on the body. My body also can’t tolerate honey (gives me some really bad stomach cramps – I think it has something to do with having a low-grade allergic reaction). Are there any other replacements for sugar you can recommend?
    Alana

    • Faith Keith

      Sorry that honey and stevia are not agreeable with your system! I know what it’s like to have a list of foods that I have to avoid :/. During a detox (and off), if you can avoid all forms of sugar that’s best, but you can get creative with your fruits to add sweetness. I have puréed blueberries, strawberries and pineapple to blend in my oats or spread on things like whole grain toast or my chicken. I’d give that a try if you haven’t already!

Leave a Reply

