The “F” word (good and bad ways to use it)

In my house, we do not use the “f word” as it pertains to the unwanted subcutaneous adipose tissue (fat). We are not allowed to pinch it or look in the mirror and audibly complain about it. Instead, we push that energy into saying things like, “I can’t wait for tomorrow’s workout…I’m ready to lean up more”.  My family knows this about me, so if they use the word “fat” around me they know we can laugh about my snappy comments to watch their language hehe. We have fun with it.

…This post, however, is about the GOOD fats. 🙂

When you give your body the right kind of fats it actually helps you purge unwanted or excess fat. When I am ready to get my shred on, this is one of the first things I start with – adding fats IN to my diet. I also love the added benefits of soft hair and skin 🙂

image of olive oil, nuts, avocado

image from healthypattern.com

Incorporating healthy fats in your diet is beneficial in so many ways!

  • helps with fat loss (yes!)
  • good for hair and skin
  • necessary brain food
  • great for your heart
  • improves blood cholesterol levels (which can decrease your risk of heart disease)

Here is a *list of some healthy fats:

  • Olive oil
  • Canola oil
  • Sunflower oil
  • Peanut oil
  • Sesame oil
  • Avocados
  • Olives
  • Nuts (almonds, peanuts, macadamia nuts, hazelnuts, pecans, cashews)
  • Peanut butter
  • Soybean oil
  • Corn oil
  • Safflower oil
  • Walnuts
  • Sunflower, sesame, and pumpkin seeds
    Flaxseed
  • Fatty fish (salmon, tuna, mackerel, herring, trout, sardines)
  • Soymilk
  • Tofu

*I found this list online…at some point…somewhere…I usually do a better job of documenting where I get things, but alas, I failed on this one

About Faith Keith

Luke Keith picked me. I love life. View all posts by Faith Keith

4 responses to “The “F” word (good and bad ways to use it)

Leave a Reply

