Clean Diet Myth Busters and Cave Man Measurements

Every now and then clean eating comes up in conversation – I think sometimes people feel obligated to confess or provide me with a reason why they can’t eat a certain way (wish people wouldn’t feel pressured around me! 🙂 I am totally not judging! We all live life with different priorities and we must enjoy life how we each see fit)…anyway…–It does always surprise me how many people think that clean eating can be boring, bland, or expensive!


The Discovery: Cave Man Measurements

My Husband is a Total Cave Man (and I love him for it)

Normally I do all the cooking, but since I have been preggers and sick with a virus, my trusty husband has stepped up to the plate.  He has surprised me – really learning his way around the kitchen so fast and picking up tons of tricks along the way.  I’ve been giving him directions using “man-measurements” to help him not feel overwhelmed. For example – instead of having him follow a normal recipe, I’ll have him cook the same thing but use measurements like “handful of this” or “two heaping spoonfuls using an eating spoon”.  Because of these man-tricks I think its making the kitchen much more manageable.  I hate reading recipes anyways, so I can’t imagine what it would be like for a guy who is never in there!

My food blog, http://www.faithkeith.com, will probably start filling up with more recipes in that “Man-food” category and some might even have those “man-measurements” 😛

Myth Buster: Eating Clean breaks the bank?

Eating clean has been CHEAPER for us. You’d be surprised! Sure, some ingredients will cost you at the beginning (like if you have to replace sugar for stevia – and stevia IS  more expensive than GreatValue sugar), but you can use normal spices, vinegars, and sauces to create amazing meals. Frozen veggies, fruits and meats are your best friend!

Myth Buster: Frozen produce fresher than fresh produce?

YES! Often times, yes it is. Because veggies and fruits are often flash frozen once harvested VERSUS your fresh produce traveling miles to your grocer, then sitting there till you buy it, then again sitting in your fridge till you use it. Ha! Who knew?

Have any other myth busters to share? I am SURE many of you have encountered people with concerns like the ones I described (or maybe these are YOUR concerns?) and unfortunately it is a road block for them from trying out a lifestyle of clean eating.  Hopefully these tips will help if you’re ready to give clean-eating another go! 😀 If you have any questions, ask away!
About Faith Keith

Luke Keith picked me. I love life. View all posts by Faith Keith

2 responses to “Clean Diet Myth Busters and Cave Man Measurements

  • blogonmummy

    Myth: kids won’t eat healthy food. False, I have some of the fussiest eaters in the world, but they love dip. They think it’s just tomato sauce. I know it’s loaded with carrots, courgettes, and all nature of good clean food. Granted they dip in their white pasta, which I hate – but you can’t win every time with little ones!
    Loving your healthy approach to pregnancy, I’m embarking on my fourth, and trying to do this one chocolate free – your my inspiration!

    • Faith Keith

      I love it! Especially now that I have a little one on the way, it is encouraging to hear other moms being creative with healthy foods for their kids. Go you!

      A chocolate-free pregnancy? ROCK ON!! You can TOTALLY do this, girl! Congrats on #4! That’s so exciting!

Leave a Reply

