First Trimester [Meal Plan and Workouts]

Month 1: Gusto for Clean Eats

Meal Plan

Not really different from my normal meal plans 🙂

Meal #1  – 4 egg whites scrambled with veggies (peppers, onions, spinach, sometimes broccoli) and slice of whole grain toast or a whole grain english muffin (add sugar free jelly sometimes), ginger tea

Meal #2 – 1 Cup greek yogurt with berries (add truvia sometimes if I’m craving sweet)

Meal #3 – 4 oz fish or chicken,  romaine salad with lemon juice as dressing (sometimes I’ll stir in a 1/2 teaspoon of dressing with the lemon juice for flavor)

Meal #4 – Fat free cottage cheese or greek yogurt with fresh berries, 12 almonds  OR cottage cheese + wheat thins OR Celery and PB

Meal #5 – 4 oz of chicken/turkey with 1/2 cup of black beans with a Tbsp of salsa and broccoli

First Tri Tip: Ginger tea – for calming nausea and healthy digestion (both are symptoms onset by hormones during pregnancy)

Favorite Cheats Treats: small avocado with lemon juice, skinny cow, Swiss Miss Cocoa with Calcium No-Sugar Added

I am avoiding where possible foods rich in vitamin A, as it is linked to complications and birth defects.

Foods rich in vitamin A:
information source: http://ask.yahoo.com/20001011.html 

  • liver
  • sweet potatos
  • carrots
  • mangoes
  • spinach
  • cantaloupe
  • dried apricots
  • milk
  • egg yolks
  • mozzarella cheese

Workouts

5 day split for lifting: upper, lower, arms, total body

4 days Cardio (running, incline-walking, elliptical, bike, stair master)

Month 2: Adjusting Nutrition

Things got a little topsy turvy! Nausea set in so I cut my meal sizes down and ate every 2 hours instead of 3.  Completely avoided sweets except in fruit and, like usual, steered clear of any processed foods.

Workouts were still strong but I cut it down to a 4 day split when the fatigue started affecting my work.

Month 3: Adjusting Exercise

2 words. FOOD. AVERSION. I had a hard time finding an adjustment here to still get all my nutrients in. There was one day where my brown bag spinach salad tasted like FISH, so I couldn’t even eat it nor the packet of tuna I brought to go with it. *le sigh* I found my body craving cheese and sometimes grains, so I allowed myself a serving of a grain or cheese on the days where nothing else would swallow.  I have only gained about 2 pounds – I am not really monitoring it, becaue frankly it’s not the weight I care about…it’s my nutrition count. I do not want to overeat what I need, but I do not want to under-eat essential nutrients (for me OR baby).

Workouts – I have absolutely resided to listening to my body. I feel comfortable doing this because I TRULY WANT to be at the gym every day, so I let my body tell me if I shouldn’t.  The fatigue and sickness is just too unpredictable, so when I do hit the gym I have to reassess what body parts or style of workout I should do that day (as oppose to following my typical 4-5day split)

I have a RIDICULOUSLY short torso (seriously…my ribs sit only maybe 3 inches away from my hip bones)…so I’m not sure, but I think I might be showing more than my long-torso’d counterparts.

faith keith - first trimester

Bye-bye abs! Hello bump!

About Faith Keith

Luke Keith picked me. I love life. View all posts by Faith Keith

8 responses to “First Trimester [Meal Plan and Workouts]

  • melissa cunningham

    love your plan!
    and your TINY TINY itty bitty baby bump is toooo stinking cute! im short torso as well,and just wait until you are about 30weeks along and things get cramped in your belly and that baby will be doing hanging leg raises from under your ribs!
    😀

    keep up your awesomeness in the gym-you have the right idea listening to your body and modifying the workout based on how you feel!

    😀

    • Faith Keith

      Hanging leg raises, ha!! love it!

      Thanks for the encouragement! This whole thing is so foreign to me and I kind of feel like I’m wandering out there alone not knowing if I should or should not do certain things…or what “normal” is – I’m having fun though : D

      I’m still following your blog and it has helped me tremendously in gauging some “norms” for the pregnant-athlete!

  • Nikki

    You look awesome and the most important part is you and baby made it through the first tri-mester, safely! Keep up the great work!! Can’t wait to watch that belly grow! :p

  • ruffelles

    you look great 🙂 I’m at 4 months now, and am also all leg/no torso, and worry that i’m “showing too much” – but have recently decided: “how often am I pregnant?” might as well dress for it, show it off and be a cute-little-pregnant-person as opposed to a “wow, she sure is filling out since getting married” person. Best of luck with everything.xo

    • Faith Keith

      HAHA well said! I checked out your blog – adorable baby bump and what a cute dress! Yeah I think I would feel a little better if I would just buckle down and buy better fitting clothes as opposed to jerry-rigging my normal clothes. 😛 I think you just gave me the itch to spend some quality time with my credit card. ^_^

  • First Trimester: Meal Plan & Workouts [Round 2] | The Road to Serious Fitness

    […] my first pregancy’s first trimester I ate healthy and I listened to my body to tell me when I could workout or not or how hard to […]

  • natural remedies

    I am extremely inspired together with your writing skills and also with the format to your weblog.
    Is that this a paid theme or did you customize it your self?

    Either way stay up the excellent high quality writing, it’s uncommon to see a great weblog like this one today..

Leave a Reply

