Let the training begin!

Stretching Exercises for Runners http://bit.ly/shoNbM

Week 1 – Kick started!

Day 1: Mental preparedness. I spent this day stretching and plotting my running schedule.  If you don’t have a plan or a routine of when exactly you will run, you probably won’t. Planning is key!

Day 2: I ran 2.25 EZ miles and it felt pretty good. I wasn’t winded and my muscles were feeling good. My joints however, we’re feeling the ache.  I stretched good and am drinking more water. Hopefully my joints will remember the running and get stronger soon.

Day 3: Weight training. Did a back/shoulder workout at lunch – bumped my lat pull downs to 105 and still cranking out 10-12 reps for 5 sets! Woot! I plan to continue weight training until the running starts needing my dedicated energy supply.

Day 4: 3 mile jog. I decided it was better to keep my pace low for now as my body adjusts, so I did this 3 miler as a jog pace instead of my race speed or faster. As a result, I ran out of time because I had a fundraiser to attend, so I only finished 2.5. Felt solid though, so I am so excited about this week’s long run!!

Day 5: Weight training. Normally I would have this day be an Active Recovery Day with a very light cardio to keep my legs moving but allow them to rest. Since tomorrow will be my first long run I want to give my legs and back a little more rest and opt for an arm+upperbody workout.  My tailbone is still giving me grief from running this week….ugh… :/ I’m going to be a very decrepit old lady.

Day 6: Long run. WHAT? It didn’t happen! Between the cold weather change AND my awesome cousins coming in town for the weekend I just never made it out there.  I realize, though, that my half marathon is in JANUARY so that means I better get myself used to the cold pronto! Or else I am going to be MISERABLE.  I need to slowly ween myself from the shredmill and out on to the pavement.

I’m ready for week 2!!

About Faith Keith

Luke Keith picked me. I love life. View all posts by Faith Keith

Leave a Reply

