Dealing with the Bloating, The Golden Rule

I realized last weekend that I was not drinking enough water. Started guzzling as much as I could but was not getting in as much water as usual. Over the week I was consuming about 1/2 gallon daily and every day increasing by a little.  I’m now up to a gallon a day so this is right where I wanted to be with water intake. The bloating has continued to decrease and I’m seeing my body normalize – hooray! Took about 2 weeks, which seems to be pretty standard because most of my friends have mentioned 1.5-2 weeks for them as well this season.

The Golden Rule:Drink water! Eek!

2 things I learned in my post-comp weeks:
  1. Water is mondo importante. It is so worth it to indulge just remember to drink lots and lots of water!
  2. Pace yourself. I learned to tell myself “The food will be there, it’s not going to run away or become unavailable”, so I don’t need to feel like I have to gorge all in one sitting.
About Faith Keith

Luke Keith picked me. I love life. View all posts by Faith Keith

2 responses to “Dealing with the Bloating, The Golden Rule

  • michelle

    wow – it really takes 2 weeks for the body to adjust? Why? I dont get it explain it to me like I’m 3 🙂

    • Faith Keith

      No, not necessarily. It depends on how bad you eat and for how long 😛 I took nearly the whole week off after my show and ate half clean and half devilishly bad :). I have a friend who says she eats crap after the show and the next day, but then eats clean and it comes right off in about 4 days. The length of time really depends on how bad you eat (and how much processed foods you eat). A girl I competed with looks pretty much exactly how she did on stage – PHENOMENAL BOD – because she didn’t have to diet as hard prior PLUS after the show she kept eating clean and drinking tons of water. Most people I talk to that have been competing for a few years have gotten over the extravagant food lust after a show and seem to only take a day or 2 off. But everyone has a different post-stage desire/goal/game-plan.

      Let me know if you have any more questions!

Leave a Reply

