Trampled, But Not Squelched

I went on a snowboarding trip during prep and stayed on track! But when I came back I guess I felt like I had it under control and began the “oh just a couple pretzels to keep me sane” thing.

Before I knew it, I had eaten about 5 pretzels every night that week.

Then my trainer changed my diet. Ok, I thought…here is your fresh start.  But I ran out of a couple items and didn’t hit the grocer so I was “improvising” and ended up eating my 4 oz chicken in between 2 slices of wheat bread…or exchanging my one rice cake for 2 pieces of peanut butter toast.

Monday morning was the moment of reckoning. Weigh in. I was mortified at the reading.  Up 2 lbs.

5 weeks out and I am UP 2 lbs when I should have LOST 2 lbs!!!

Nothing can shake me from my diet today. Nothing. The weight of the sheer horror cloaks me. I must stay focused.  It’s like Susan Dowse said, “The whole point is to [take] my body to a place it hasn’t been. To see what I am capable of….. Everything matters.  Both the hunger and the indulging matter.”

I have remembered why I am dieting and training. I have reignited the fire of excellence. My goals are hanging on a plaque around my neck. I am ready to meet the challenge of the final 5 weeks and Lord-willing I WILL finish strong. Excitement and perseverance – Let’s do this.
About Faith Keith

Luke Keith picked me. I love life. View all posts by Faith Keith

4 responses to “Trampled, But Not Squelched

Leave a Reply

