Tonic: For the Onset of a Cold

I have been feeling like I am on the verge of getting sick for the past 2 weeks. It might be due to the drastic-Texas-style-weather-changes.  One day its in the upper 70’s, then the next day it’s snowing.  I like to sip this tonic that has soothed my throat so at least I don’t have that “I think I’m getting sick” feeling.

Not sure how to make this clean since the honey is a key ingredient (but quite horrible for my bodybuilding competition prep).  Any suggestions?

Was reminded of this tonic when I read the Recipe of the Month column in Deb’s Waxing Room monthly newsletter.cold fighting tonic - image from lisamariegordon.blogspot.com.jpg

Steamin’ Mama’s Lemonade

For cough or congestion
Healing Tonics by Jeanine Pollack

  • Juice of one medium lemon
  • 2 cups boiling water
  • 1-2 tablespoons honey or maple syrup
  • 1/8-1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper

Stir the fresh lemon juice into the hot water. Add the honey or maple syrup and the cayenne peeper, and stir well.

Drink 1-2 cups as needed at the first sign of chills, sore throat, or cough. Sip slowly, and be prepared to “feel the heat”! Can be drunk as often as needed; generally, 2-3 times per day if you’re feeling sick or a few times per week as a tonic.

Buy this book on Amazon or Google Books

About Faith Keith

Luke Keith picked me. I love life. View all posts by Faith Keith

2 responses to “Tonic: For the Onset of a Cold

Leave a Reply

