Don’t Be Too Good Of A Workout Partner Or 24Hour Fitness Might Threaten To Take Your Membership Away

FUNNIEST thing happened to me last night at 24 Hour Fitness Allen, TX.  I was working out with my aunt Kim, who I work out with about twice a week – she’s a nurse so sometimes we miss each other at the gym.  She’s a great workout partner because she’s always willing to push herself so we make a great team as we push each other to go further.

While we were resting between a set, I was approached by the manager and another personal trainer who said

>>”hey…you can’t train here…it’s against 24 Hour policy to blah blah blah…we will take your membership away

>>*shock* I reply “ok…I’m not training anyone though…”

>>He said that apparently they’ve seen me with 3 or 4 other girlsso I’m not allowed to have friends at the gym?? and he said I correct them [their form]what good workout partner doesnt??

>>I interjected and said “I only workout with my aunt. And I’m not trying to back talk or be disrespectful, but …then how do you want me to be a motivating partner?  I mean, I’m clearly not a trainer (as I squeeze the fat on my inner thigh)”

>>He did laugh, but I could tell he was uncomfortable with the conversation and holding to the accusation.  He said that “people” have made complaints and he then repeated that I could cause the district manager to get involved and they would revoke my membership.

>>I answered with a “thanks for the heads up” and “I’ll try to …work on the appearance of it…”

I understand that if I WAS a trainer, that he was required to approach me.  BUT did he have to threaten me twice about revoking membership?  I think this was very poorly handled. I’m just trying to workout here…  Next time they should take the time to observe me before they accuse me.  I’m thinking I must have ticked off some other trainer – maybe I crowded them in a workout station.

Just the day prior I saw two overweight girls working out together.  One of them turns to the other and says, “Now what do I do?” and the other girl replies “I want you to do this….” *demonstrates*.  Girl #1 begins and girl #2 corrects her form, “No, I need you to keep your arms straight and really concentrate on THESE muscles”.

So apparently there are guidelines to what kind of a workout partner you can be at 24 Hour Fitness Allen:

  • You need to be equal in fitness status
  • You would be better off being fat so that people know you are just working out
  • You can’t shout things like “We are here to work, not cheat! Now dig deep!”  or things like “Keep your shoulders back, come on, you got this” or “No way, you can definitely do 10 more”
  • You’re better off not talking about your routine with your partner – because if you talk too intelligently then they might think you’re a trainer

I am not angry, though I do think it was poorly handled. After I clearly identified myself as not a trainer and that Kim was my workout PARTNER, he should not have threatened me about taking my membership.  But…if I am approached again…I WILL RAISE CAIN. Because a paying member should not be threatened like this when they are committing no actual offense.   🙂 Cheers

But for now…I’ll take it as a compliment that they thought I was a trainer – HA!

About Faith Keith

Luke Keith picked me. I love life. View all posts by Faith Keith

11 responses to “Don’t Be Too Good Of A Workout Partner Or 24Hour Fitness Might Threaten To Take Your Membership Away

  • french_pedi

    take it as a compliment. this is the first job that numbnut has ever had where he has the ability to tell anyone what to do and he is powertripping. give a numbnut a tiny bit of putative power and they will start acting like Newt Gingrich.

  • mychee

    Oh my goodness. Sounds kind of absurd that they would care.

    But I do have to say, looking at your [bodybuilding.com] profile pic, you do look like a trainer. 🙂

  • bigsildonie

    OMG Really!! You definitely look fit and smok’n so they did compliment you so that’s a plus. I have been looking into getting my CPT and looking at gyms to work in. I have read too many articles/blogs about 24HR Fitness being the wost to work at. They only care about money and pressuring the Personal Trainers to make sales ar they get fired. Average employment time is three months. I’m sure they have a great establishment; however, I would be complain to that guy’s boss and chuck the middle and let the index finger follow! LOL

  • Faith Keith

    Thanks for the support guys (and compliments 🙂 ) makes me not feel like a crazy person for being a little upset about getting threatened – eek!

    Should I have a courteous sit down with the manager and let them know that it was a major faux pas on there part? …and kinda embarrassing as I saw the whole floor eyeing me after the conversation… 😛 still funny though

  • anissa3

    take it as a compliment girl and laugh it off. how stupid…jealousy makes people do the strangest things LOL…he should have just offered you a job and been done with it :0)

  • bikiniorbust

    You kick serious butt woman! I have NEVER been mistaken for a trainer. Wowsa!!! I am IMPRESSED. Come work out with me, I need a butt kick this week. 🙂
    I love the part about you displaying your fat to prove that you aren’t a trainer.
    Be flattered. 😀

    • Faith Keith

      haha thanks – im trying to remind myself that I should take it as a compliment instead of dwelling on the fear that they wont believe me and just take my membership 😛 silly

      Would be so cool to workout together from time to time – if only we lived in “slightly” close proximity ^__^

  • michelle

    wow what a crazy thing to do, but what a total compliment to YOU! That has happened to a few friends of mine who actually WERE trainers at Lifetime fitness…

  • Oh how I’ve Missed You, 24 Hr. Fitness « the Squished Diorama

    […] Don’t Be Too Good Of A Workout Partner Or 24Hour Fitness Might Threaten To Take Your Membershi… (faithkeith.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

