[Competition Training] Day 18: My Defining Moment

Warm up

Walking Lunges

Walking Double lunges

Circuit 1 – all circuits repeat 3 times

20R squat on platform (drop weight lower than platform) (25#)

10R Lunge-squat set each leg (front lunge, back lunge, wide squat; 10R then switch legs)

50R “lateral knee-ups” (get in push up position, staying in push up position jump right leg up so that your knee is now near your head and foot at your right hand, then jump the right leg back while simultaneously jumping left leg up so that left foot is by left hand –so you always have one leg out keeping you in push-up stance and one leg by your hand)

Circuit 2

10R Single leg step up with bench (when you come down, don’t put weight down, just touch)

30 bench sit ups (lay on bench with legs out stretched in the air so that you are horizontal with floor, fold body and legs in for crunch)

20R Roman dead lifts (30#)

Core – 15R ab-dolly (front, left, right = 1R)


Today was great because I confirmed to myself that I can push myself on my own. [This is very reassuring since in a week I will be working out mostly on my own!] During the “lateral knee ups” I set out to do 50 the first set, but I knew in my head that was too tough, so I ended up failing (probably prematurely) at 20 and then continuing a few at a time till I finished.  The second circuit around I told myself to at least get to 25 without stopping…well…I made it to 30!! I was so proud of myself! I had to finish it in sets of 5s and 10.  Then…the defining moment…Last circuit I decided to do 35 – really do 35.  I ended up failing at 32, but not because of will power! I was then able to do the next 20 without stopping! then I finished strong with the last 8 but was dead after that.  Point of that is…I pushed myself!! That was not my trainer making those goals, that was ME! THANK YOU LORD FOR THE STRENGTH AND SUCCESS!!

PS…cheat meal today – fried shrimp po’boy at Rockfish yummm…but next time I think I’ll just do blackened shrimp.  I was just so excited about my cheat meal haha, but the fried part really wasn’t that worth it.  I think I would have been just as satisfied with grilled or blackened. #liveandlearn

About Faith Keith

Luke Keith picked me. I love life. View all posts by Faith Keith

Leave a Reply

